Toccata Music Shop Toccata Music Shop
CDLX 7332 John Gardner  /  John Veale

CDLX 7332 John Gardner / John Veale

165 SEK
Gardner, JohnSymphony No. 3
Op. 166     E minor
Royal Scottish National Orchestra - Martin Yates
Veale, JohnSymphony No. 2 
    D minor

Martin Yates and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra make a striking discovery by coupling the second symphonies of John Gardner and John Veale, works dating from 1984-85 and 1965 respectively. Gardner was a well-loved figure in his time, as both teacher and composer, writing an enormous amount of music. The Second Symphony espouses a traditional treatment of the orchestra together with a personal lyricism, which will appeal to all who have taken Malcolm Arnold to heart.